Skip to content
All strategies

Strategies

FMZ funding-rate digest, operationalized: concentrated delta-neutral funding carry on 8 Binance alts (long BINANCE_SPOT / short USD-M perp), top-3 by trailing funding, premium-gated entry, negative-premium exit (1H)

Outcome: Backtesting

FmzConcentratedSpotPerpFundingCarry

FMZ funding-rate digest, operationalized: concentrated delta-neutral funding carry on 8 Binance alts (long BINANCE_SPOT / short USD-M perp), top-3 by trailing funding, premium-gated entry, negative-premium exit (1H)

Hypothesis

Derived by the Research Lead from 小草, "资金费率策略近况和推荐操作" (FMZ digest, 2021-12-02, https://www.fmz.com/digest-topic/8469, building on the strategy described at https://www.fmz.com/digest-topic/6381). The article describes a hedged perpetual funding arbitrage but does not specify its rules: long spot and short perpetual on coins with high positive funding, opened when the perp trades at a premium to spot (开仓溢价) and closed when that premium turns negative (平仓溢价). It makes three recommendations: (1) concentrate in a FEW……Show moreShow less

Derived by the Research Lead from 小草, "资金费率策略近况和推荐操作" (FMZ digest, 2021-12-02, https://www.fmz.com/digest-topic/8469, building on the strategy described at https://www.fmz.com/digest-topic/6381). The article describes a hedged perpetual funding arbitrage but does not specify its rules: long spot and short perpetual on coins with high positive funding, opened when the perp trades at a premium to spot (开仓溢价) and closed when that premium turns negative (平仓溢价). It makes three recommendations: (1) concentrate in a FEW high-funding coins rather than spreading across many, (2) use more exchanges, (3) seize extreme-funding events. What the figures show: two position tables from the author's live robot (digests 8469 and 6381) list per coin the short perp quantity, the matching spot quantity, an open premium % (typically 0.03–0.3%), a close premium % (0.1–0.18%), target position, average funding % (about 0.03%/8h in Dec-2021, versus about 0.15–0.17%/8h earlier in the bull market), current funding and reference annualised yield. A cross-exchange funding table shows OMG at -2.4% (Binance) to -5.4% (FTX) during an airdrop. Two further images are banners with no data. The linked code (strategy 333315) is only a funding-rate dashboard across exchanges. The robot page could not be read (FAILED). No exact rules were available, so the rules below are mine. OPERATIONALIZATION: the universe is 8 alts that appear in the author's own position tables and are listed on both Binance Spot and Binance USD-M: SAND, ICP, VET, ATOM, ANKR, 1INCH, EGLD, IOTA. Each coin is a pair of legs of equal USDT notional: long <COIN>USDT.BINANCE_SPOT (cash) and short <COIN>USDT.BINANCE (perp). The book is therefore delta-neutral, and PnL is funding received plus basis change minus fees. All 16 instruments use 1-HOUR bars. Funding is read point-in-time with supp_as_of / supp_window on the perp, never by abs() timestamp matching. At each 8h funding settlement (00/08/16 UTC bar close), coins are ranked by trailing mean funding over the last `funding_lookback` settlements. Only the top `top_n` whose mean exceeds `entry_funding_min` are held (recommendation 1, concentration). Recommendation 2 (multiple exchanges) is deliberately left out of this test: keeping one exchange means both legs share a venue's funding and prices. Recommendation 3 (OMG-style extreme negative funding) would need borrowed spot to short, which a CASH account cannot do, so only the positive-funding side is tested. Execution: every order is a market order at the signal bar's close, which is the 24/7 equivalent of a next-bar-open fill. The spot leg is long-only and unleveraged; the perp short is at 1x notional matching the spot leg, with leverage fixed at 1.0. Cost arithmetic: a full pair round trip pays 2×0.10% spot + 2×0.05% perp = 0.30% of one leg's notional (0.15% of gross two-leg notional). The source's late-2021 average funding is about 0.03%/8h (0.09%/day). Over a minimum hold of 7 days (21 settlements), expected funding is about 0.63% per pair round trip before basis. Adding the entry premium of at least 0.05% as basis converges gives about 0.68% gross versus 0.30% cost per leg-notional, so about 0.38% net per pair, or about 0.19% of gross notional per leg-trade. In the higher-funding regimes the source shows (0.15%/8h), the capture is several times that. This is a cross-venue (BINANCE_SPOT + BINANCE), market-neutral, multi-instrument hypothesis. Those buckets are under-represented in the portfolio (cross-venue 7.9% versus the ≥15% target).

Implementation

Delta-neutral funding carry on 8 Binance alts (SAND, ICP, VET, ATOM, ANKR, 1INCH, EGLD, IOTA). Each pair is a long BINANCE_SPOT leg plus a short USD-M perp leg with the same coin quantity, on 1H bars. Coins are ranked by trailing mean funding over funding_lookback settlements, normalised to a per-8h rate and read point in time from funding_rates_by_instrument. Only the top_n coins whose mean is above entry_funding_min are held. A pair opens when the perp premium (perp/spot - 1) is at least open_premium. It closes at once on a hedge break (|premium| >= 3%), on a funding flip (latest settlement <= -0.05%/8h), or when one leg is missing. After min_hold_settlements it also closes on a negative premium (<= close_premium), on carry decay (mean < exit_funding_min), or when its rank drops below top_n x rank_exit_multiple. Each pair is sized at min(spot MTM, perp MTM) x 0.95 / top_n.

Implements the FMZ 8469/6381 hedged funding arbitrage as operationalized. Recommendation 1 (concentration) is the top_n trailing-funding ranking. The source's open premium and close premium are open_premium and the negative close_premium, with premium computed from contemporaneous closes of the perp and spot bars (the base sync barrier aligns all 16 legs; a leg bar newer than the decision bar is never used). The funding_flip, rank and hedge-break exits plus the minimum hold follow the plan's fixed and tunable……Show moreShow less

Implements the FMZ 8469/6381 hedged funding arbitrage as operationalized. Recommendation 1 (concentration) is the top_n trailing-funding ranking. The source's open premium and close premium are open_premium and the negative close_premium, with premium computed from contemporaneous closes of the perp and spot bars (the base sync barrier aligns all 16 legs; a leg bar newer than the decision bar is never used). The funding_flip, rank and hedge-break exits plus the minimum hold follow the plan's fixed and tunable parameters, with exact names. Funding is looked up by bisect_right at the bar timestamp (point in time, no abs() matching). Records are normalised to per-8h because some Binance alts moved to 4h funding intervals; without that, rankings would mix units. A coin without funding data is simply never eligible; there is no price proxy. The ranking is a pure function of the clock and the hold time comes from the perp position's ts_opened, so a restart changes no decision. Both legs use an identical coin quantity, floored to the coarser size increment, so the book is delta-neutral. Spot and perp sit on separate $100K venue accounts, each at 0.95x of its own equity (leverage 1.0, nothing to wire). Every leg is its own order and position, so total_trades counts legs (lesson 146). Expect roughly 2 x top_n legs per rotation. Fee note: a pair round trip costs 0.30% of one leg's notional. The minimum hold of 21 settlements and the 0.02%/8h entry floor target about 0.4%+ funding per hold, but in 2023-2025 alt funding sits near the 0.01% base, so few coins may clear entry_funding_min outside bull phases.

Verification Results

Optionally recompute the perp qty from the actual spot fill (or size the pair at cash/(price*(1+fee))*0.995) so the hedge stays exactly matched.

Both legs are submitted with the identical qty. The base helper caps a spot BUY to free cash/(price*(1+fee)) with a 0.5% buffer, so if that cap binds (e.g. after spot MTM drift or rounding), the spot leg can be slightly smaller than the perp short. That leaves a small residual net-short delta. This is not a correctness failure because the sizing uses min(spot_eq, perp_eq)*0.95/top_n, which leaves headroom.

If exactness matters, count the funding timestamps in (ts_opened, ts] with bisect on the coin's funding ts list.

'settled' is computed as elapsed 8-hour blocks since perp ts_opened. That is not a count of actual funding settlements: a pair opened at 07:00 crosses its first settlement after 1h. For coins on 4h funding intervals, the block count is half the real settlement count. The minimum hold is therefore only approximately min_hold_settlements. The effect is minor and does not change the structure of the rule.

None required.

The hypothesis ranks coins 'at each 8h settlement'. The code ranks on every 1H bar, but the ranking can only change when a new funding print arrives, so it is equivalent. Entries can then fire on any hour once the premium gate opens, which is a faithful reading of the open-premium rule.

The sandbox shows 3 pair round trips (6 legs) over 818 days, about 29 days per hold, a +0.52% total return and PF 1.04. The economics depend on alt funding staying above entry_funding_min (0.02%/8h). The developer notes that 2023-2025 alt funding sits near the 0.01% base, so the book may be flat most of the time and its sample of pairs will be thin. The pair round trip costs 0.30% of one leg's notional. Check per-pair net (funding + basis - fees) on the full history, not per-leg avg_trade_return_pct: the spot leg loses and the perp leg wins by construction (long_win_rate 0 / short_win_rate 1), so per-leg numbers are not meaningful alone. Note the 18.25% impact_cost_pct on thin alts (ANKR/IOTA/VET) at 0.95/top_n of equity per leg.

Analysis

资金费率策略近况和推荐操作

Analysis

币安永续资金费率套利(目前牛市年化100%)

各大交易所资金费率汇总

Backtest and paper results are hypothetical. Trading involves risk of loss.